top of page

School Library Sponsorship Programme


Chou Sing Chu Foundation (CSCF) launched the Chou Sing Chu Foundation School Library Sponsorship Programme in 2018, selecting and donating books for selected primary school libraries, so as to promote reading in Chinese in schools. As of 2022, the program has come to an end with 70 primary schools have already benefitted from this programme. The Chinese books donated come from local and overseas sources, and are prepared according to the needs of each school. Over 70,000 books have been donated thus far, with more currently in the process of being acquired.

“There is no such thing as a child who hates to read; there are only children who have not found the right book.”
– Frank Serafini, Professor of Literacy Education and Children’s Literature at Arizona State University

Programme Objectives

With CSCF Chairman Mr Chou Cheng Ngok as the programme advocate, this initiative was launched to expand the Tampines Regional Library sponsorship scheme to school libraries, enriching their Chinese book collections and helping students to have greater access to Chinese reading materials. These carefully selected books and the fun activities that follow, will enable students to experience the joy of reading in Chinese and inspire their interest in the language and culture. 

Selection Criteria

The main selection criteria include the school’s existing programmes in promoting reading in Chinese, as well as their proposed plans to make the donated Chinese children’s books available to their students in their libraries. The selection committee is comprised of experts and scholars. For instance, the selection committee for the latest round of applications consisted of representatives from Ministry of Education (MOE) and National Institute of Education (NIE).

Response to the Programme

 “We appreciate the support of the Foundation and their sponsorship of the Chinese books which would help complement our existing collection. Our students will benefit from the wide variety of books, and this initiative helps to enhance the school’s reading programme. There is no other gift that would bring as much joy to the children than the gift of reading.”

– ​ Mr Michel Saw, Principal, Edgefield Primary School

"This initiative greatly enhances the school's reading programme, cultivates lifelong reading habits in our students, and in turn nurtures their love for the Chinese language."

– Mr Lim Meng Wei, Principal, Pei Chun Public School 

“The School Library Sponsorship Programme is a shot of adrenaline to the school’s effort to inculcate the love for Chinese among our young learners. As we move past the pandemic, the school hope to re-ignite their love for reading Chinese books. With this partnership, the school can purchase and provide new reading resources to create interest and attract students back to this favourite pastime.”

- Mr Chris Loh Kai Mun, Principal, Jurong West Primary School

10 Primary Schools Selected in 2019

  1. Boon Lay Garden Primary School

  2. Concord Primary School

  3. Edgefield Primary School

  4. Geylang Methodist Primary School

  5. Hougang Primary School

  6. Marsiling Primary School

  7. Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary School

  8. Princess Elizabeth Primary School

  9. St. Andrew’s Junior School

  10. Zhenghua Primary School

20 Primary Schools Selected in 2020

  1. Ai Tong School 

  2. Ang Mo Kio Primary School 

  3. Canberra Primary School 

  4. Canossa Catholic Primary School 

  5. Cantonment Primary School 

  6. Catholic High School-Primary 

  7. CHIJ Kellock 

  8. CHIJ Our Lady of the Nativity 

  9. Chongfu School 

  10. Fengshan Primary School 

  11. Greenridge Primary School 

  12. Junyuan Primary School 

  13. Keming Primary School 

  14. Mayflower Primary School 

  15. Pasir Ris Primary School 

  16. Paya Lebar Methodist Girl School-Primary 

  17. Sengkang Green Primary School 

  18. Tampines North Primary School 

  19. Xingnan Primary School 

  20. Yio Chu Kang Primary School 

20 Primary Schools Selected in 2021

  1.  Bukit Timah Primary School

  2.  Corporation Primary School

  3.  Dazhong Primary School

  4.  East Spring Primary School 

  5.  Evergreen Primary School

  6.  Horizon Primary School

  7.  Maha Bodhi School

  8.  Maris Stella High School (Primary)

  9.  Nanyang Primary School

  10.  North Spring Primary School

  11.  Palm View Primary School

  12.  Park View Primary School

  13.  Pei Chun Public School 

  14.  Poi Ching School 

  15.  Qihua Primary School

  16.  Rivervale Primary School 

  17.  Temasek Primary School

  18.  Woodgrove Primary School 

  19.  Woodlands Primary School 

  20.  Yishun Primary School

20 Primary Schools Selected in 2022

Project Execution

Feb - Aug 2019

Feb - Dec 2020

Mar - Dec 2021

Mar - Mar 2022*

​This program has ended

bottom of page